Note: This article is on the new Sandbox 2.0 which is currently in Private Beta. For Freshservice's legacy Sandbox click here.

Sync History maintains a record of all the Config Sets that have been synchronized from the source to the target. With sync history users can track the status of the latest syncs done to ot from an instance. 


The sync history by default lists changes incoming into an instance. For example, if there are three instances namely Prod, Dev, and Test. The sync history for the Prod instance only lists those config sets that come in from Dev and Test instances.


Similarly, the sync history for the Dev instance only lists all the config sets that come in from the Prod and Test instances.


Where can one view sync history? (global & workspace settings)


Sync history is a record of incoming changes (configurations) and therefore can be viewed from the target only. This can be viewed in Sandbox -> Sync History to view the list of configurations that were synced to the target.



Who can view sync history?

When the user in the target is within a local Workspace    

  • Play god and Workspace admins have view access.     

  • Admins with view access can view syncs initiated to this workspace.     

    

When the user in the target is in a global workspace    

  • Play god admins have view access.    

  • Play god admins can view syncs initiated to a global workspace. (Note: Global configurations initiated from workspace levels are not included here.)    

    

When the user in the target is within a restricted workspace    

  • Restricted workspace admins have view access.    

  • Restricted workspace admins can view syncs initiated to this workspace.



What are the different statuses displayed in Sync History?

  • In Progress: Indicates that the sync is in progress.

  • Successful: Indicates that the sync is completed, and all items in the config set are successfully moved to the target.

  • Partially Successful: Indicates that the sync is completed, but that at least one config has failed to sync due to errors.

  • Failed: Indicates that all configurations fail to sync.


FAQs:

  1. Why is Sync History important?

Sync History is helpful to get a summary of all the config syncs that come into an instance.

  

  1. Who has access to view sync history? 

Users who have access to the target instance can view sync history.


  1. What happens when the user does not have access to the target instance?

No access screen is displayed.