Let’s say an issue gets reported multiple times, by members of the same team. Or a requester
raises a new ticket instead of following up on an existing one.
The following things happen when you merge tickets.
1. One of the tickets (you get to choose which one) becomes the primary ticket. The others
2. All conversations from all the secondary tickets are moved to the primary ticket.
3. All the secondary tickets are closed.
4. All messages are sorted chronologically.
5. A note is added to each of the secondary tickets with a link to the primary ticket.
6. If the note is public, an email notification might be sent to the requesters about the
merged tickets so we are adding a Private note.
In such cases, you can ‘merge’ the new ticket to the original one. Here’s how:
From the detailed view of the primary ticket, click on the More button in the top-right corner and choose Merge from the drop-down menu.
In the window that pops up, search for, and select the tickets that you want to mergefrom the drop list.
3. Hover mouse over to select the primary ticket.
If you inadvertently select a ticket that does not need to be merged, click on the red
minus sign next to it to remove it from the list. Once done, click Continue.
On the next page, check if the changes you made are okay. You can even edit the notes that will be added to the primary and the secondary tickets.
Click on Confirm and merge to save the changes.