You can create multiple SLA policies in your service desk and enforce a different SLA policy on tickets based on specific departments or groups that you use in your Freshservice. For example, you might want to have a different SLA policy for specific customers, or for tickets related to specific departments.

Quick guide to configuring multiple SLAs:

  • Navigate to Admin > General Settings > SLA Policies.
  • Click on New SLA Policy.
  • Choose the SLA Targets for each ticket priority.
  • Select the trigger conditions (when must this rule be applied).
  • Enter up to 3 levels of escalation hierarchies.
  • Save the policy.
  • Reorder your policies with the most restrictive rules coming first.

To enforce a new SLA policy, click on the New SLA Policy button on the SLA Policies Page. You will have to define SLA targets for each ticket priority, just like you did with your default SLA policy.

Next, choose when you want this SLA to kick in by choosing trigger conditions. 

Defining Trigger Conditions

You will need to define at least one trigger condition for each SLA policy. Remember - the order of your SLA policies is important. If you have multiple SLA policies, the first one with matching conditions will be applied to a ticket.

For example, consider you have a special SLA policy (SLA 1) for tickets from a specific Customer A, and you have another policy (SLA 2) for tickets assigned to Group X ordered with SLA 1 on top and SLA 2 second. A ticket from Customer A, assigned to Group X will match with the rules in SLA 1 (which is on top), and so SLA 1 will be applied.

You can reorder your SLA rules, and organize them in such a way so the most restrictive (strict) rules are higher up in the order. Here’s a quick overview of the entire process:

Here are the various conditions you can use to trigger a specific SLA policy:

Department: You can choose to apply this SLA policy only for the departments you specify here. For example, you might want to trigger a particular SLA policy for requesters from a particular department, or just top-level employees in your team.

Group: If you want this policy to apply only for specific Agent Groups you should mention that here. For example, you might want to define a different set of service levels for your finance group which has to process refunds.

Source: You might want to set a different service level target for tickets coming in through Phone, as compared to those through email.

Type: In case you'd like incidents and service requests to have different SLAs, you can do that too. You can also go a step further to define SLA policies for specific Service Categories or Service Items.

Category: You can specify SLAs for tickets that fall in a particular category. For example, if a ticket is raised for a 'Network' issue, it needs to be addressed quicker than, say, a 'Software' issue.


1. The 'Category' option might not be available if the account was created before the field was introduced. In that case, you can add it from Admin> Field Templates.

2. If you were already using a custom field for 'Category', you can contact us at for help with migrating the values for all existing tickets.

Defining Escalation Rules

The escalation rules can also be established when creating custom SLAs. For example, you can choose who you want to escalate the ticket to when the ticket hasn't been resolved for a specific time interval. 

You can set up to four levels of Escalations, for ticket resolution and one level for ticket response.

Clone SLA:

  • Navigate from Admin -> Admin Policies -> SLA policies. 
  • Click the Clone option next to the SLA policy ( for eg. SLA for network team) and the following policy will be cloned immediately.