Note: This article is on the new Sandbox 2.0 which is currently in Private Beta. For Freshservice's legacy Sandbox click here.

What data is copied during Sandbox creation? 

During Sandbox creation, all data such as workflows, departments, fields, agents, etc., is copied whereas all data like tickets, changes, problems, releases, etc., is ignored.


For data like ‘requesters’ and ‘assets’, only those that are referenced in some of the data copied by default (e.g: an asset referenced in a workflow or a requester who is the head of a department) is copied.


The table below lists all modules with a bifurcation of whether it is copied or not, during Sandbox creation.


Data/Module name

Is this module copied to Sandbox?

Account Settings (Service desk rebranding, Service desk security, Audit log, Email notifications, Plans and Billing, Day passes)

No

User Management (Agents, Roles, User Fields, CAB, Agent Groups, Departments, Departments Fields, Requesters, Requester Groups)

Yes

User Management (Work Schedule)

No

Freddy AI (Field suggester, Response suggestions) 

No

Channels (Freshchat, Virtual agent, Freshcaller, Freshdesk, Support Portal & Feedback widget, Email Mailboxes)

No

Service Desk Settings (Business Hours, SLA & OLA Policies, Field manager, Business Rules For Forms, Ticket /Problem Closure rules, Change lifecycle)

Yes

Service Desk Settings (Priority Matrix, Form Templates, Tags, Satisfaction survey)

No

Service Request Management (Service Catalog Items, Document Templates)

Yes

Service Request Management (Employee Onboarding, Employee Offboarding)

No

Automation (Workflow Automator, Credentials)

Yes

Automation (Supervisor rules, Orchestration center, Scenario Automations)

No

Agent Productivity (Canned responses, Scheduler, Leaderboard, Email commands, Collaborate)

No

Extensibility (Apps)

No

Extensibility (Custom objects)

Yes 

Asset Management ( Asset Type & Fields, Product Catalog, Vendor, Vendor fields, Software fields, Purchase Order fields, Locations, Asset Depreciation, Relationship types)

Yes

Asset Management (Discovery, Cloud Management, SaaS Management, Contract Types)

No

Assets

Yes

IT Operations Management (Alert Management

Yes

IT Operations Management (On call schedule)

No

Project & Workload Management (Project fields, Project collaboration, Jira Import, DevOps integration, Workload management)

No

Service Categories

Yes

Service Items

Yes


Which roles can be copied to a Sandbox and how? 

All admins have their roles copied to the Sandbox by default. An admin has the same privileges in Sandbox, that they have in the Production instance i.e., A Play god admin in the Production will retain the Play god permissions in the Sandbox, while a workspace admin will only retain admin permissions specific to those workspaces. 


Can new agents be added to Sandbox?

New agents can be added to Sandbox and synced back to Production, as long as there are enough licenses available.


How are requesters copied?

Only requesters with references within other configurations are copied, while the rest are ignored. To import the remaining requesters, one can export them from Production and import them into Sandbox.

For example, a requester designated as the 'head of the department' is copied when creating a Sandbox, ensuring the correlation between the field 'department' and the field 'head of the department' remains intact in the Sandbox.


FAQs: 


1. Who can create/edit/delete a Sandbox?
Only users with Play God with Super Admin permissions can create, edit, and delete a Sandbox.


2. Can non-admin agents access Sandbox? 
No, non-admin agents do not have access to Sandbox by default. Upgrading their roles to ‘admin’ (play god or workplace admin) gives them access to Sandbox.


3. Can multiple Sandboxes be created? Is there a limit on the number of Sandboxes that can be created?
Yes, multiple Sandboxes can be created by purchasing them as add-ons. Enterprise plan customers get one free Sandbox by default. The maximum number of Sandboxes supported per account is three.


4. How are clone creation and permissions in Sandbox 2.0 different from that of the existing Sandbox?

Old Sandbox

Sandbox 2.0

Workspace admins (global or local), have full permissions to securely test and sync changes to the production instance independent of their global or local level accesses.

In Sandbox 2.0, global admins can modify only global-level workspaces and local workspace admins can modify only respective workspaces inside the Sandbox. Click here for details.


5. How long does it take to create a Sandbox? 
It typically takes a few seconds to several minutes depending on the volume of data in the Production instance. Users are notified via email once the Sandbox is ready.


6. What if Sandbox creation fails?
We ensure that Sandbox creation is as seamless as possible. However, if the Sandbox creation fails due to some unpredictable causes, users are notified via email. You can give it a few minutes and retry. 

Note: Make sure you delete the failed entry from the ‘Sandbox’ tab if you want to use the same Sandbox name again.


7. What is the validity period of any Sandbox created?

Sandboxes are valid perpetually; they persist until deleted.


8. Can you create a Sandbox (copy) of a Sandbox?

No. 


9. What can be edited in a Sandbox?
Only the name and description can be edited in a Sandbox.

10. Can apps be purchased from Sandbox?

We currently do not allow users to purchase any apps from Sandbox.

11. What are the methods for accessing Sandbox? 
Sandbox can be accessed through the Admin > ‘Sandbox’ tab or via a unique URL (generated based on your Sandbox’s name). 


12. How do users know if they are present in a specific Sandbox? 
A banner at the top of the UI indicates whether the current instance is a Sandbox and displays the name of the Sandbox. For example, the banner reads, ‘You are in the Dev sandbox’.


13. What happens when you delete a Sandbox? 
Deleting a Sandbox is an irreversible action; all data and configurations are permanently lost. 


14. What if a user is deleted after Sandbox is created?
Data linked to a deleted user must be manually deleted or cleared when the user is deleted.

15. Are there any limitations on data that is manually added to Sandbox (i.e. data not added by default?
Yes. See the table below for details on such data limits:



Data Type

Max. Limit 

1

Tickets

3000

2

Changes

50

3

Problems

50

4

Releases

50

5

Contracts

50

6

Solution Articles

50

7

Projects

25

8

Tasks

100

9

Alerts

100

10

Assets

Standard asset pack limit based on tier i.e., 100 assets

11

Software

Standard asset pack limit based on tier


16. Why are limits set on data that is not copied by default?
Freshservice sets limits on data that is not copied by default in Sandbox for two key reasons:

    1) The primary purpose of Sandbox is to serve as a test environment, and the established limits are adequate for such use cases.

    2) Freshservice aims to optimize resource usage for customers, and regulating data limits helps safeguard our systems from potential abuse.

17. What happens when data limit of data that is not copied by default is breached?
Users can manually delete surplus data to resume using Sandbox.

18. What happens to the Sandbox in case a customer’s subscription is downgraded from the Enterprise plan to any other plan?
If the subscription is downgraded, Sandbox is deleted and all data and progress is lost.