In order to simplify work visualization in the workload module, admins can configure a workflow to automate the entry of all the planned fields (planned start date, planned end date and planned effort).
Planned start and end dates are available in the condition and action nodes of Workflow Automator. You can also modify them in the expression builder node and reference the output in the action node. Planned effort is only available in the action node.
Introduction of Default Workflows
To ease the user’s experience in planning dates, five default workflows have been made available. These workflows can be further customized by the admins to suit their needs.
Tasks, Changes and Releases: The workflow sets the ‘Planned Start Date’ to the time the first agent is assigned.
The planned end date for tasks is automatically set to the due date during task creation so there is no workflow to autofill the end date. The planned end date for changes and releases is not auto filled and can be set manually or by adding another action node to this workflow.
Problems and Tickets: The workflow sets the ‘Planned Start Date’ to the time the first agent is assigned and the ‘Planned End Date’ to the Due Date
The ‘Project Tasks’ module is not available in Workflow Automator, hence there’s no default workflow for it.
Workflows can be added directly by clicking on ‘Add Workflow’.
Once the workflow is added, it can be edited from the workflow design page (also accessible from Admin -> Automation & Productivity -> Automation -> Workflow Automator section) and enabled.
It can be accessed anytime by clicking on ‘View workflow’.
The activation/deactivation settings can be controlled centrally from the workload settings page.
Adding workflows for Tasks
For Tasks, adding a workflow will add four workflows, one each for Tickets, Changes, Problems and Releases.
Activating and deactivating these workflows can be managed centrally from the workload settings page. Out of the four, users can selectively activate workflows as well.
If a default workflow is deleted, the workload settings page will again display the ‘Add workflow’ button against that specific workflow.
Disabling Workload Management
Upon disabling workload management, planned fields will be removed from tickets, problems, and tasks. In addition to this, planned effort will be removed from Problems and Changes. Since your default workload workflows may fail to execute, you can choose to delete them as you disable the module.
Note for accounts with workspaces enabled
Single workspace accounts: The default workflows will be added to the primary workspace.
Multi-workspace accounts: In a multi-workspace account, the workload settings page will be in the global settings section and therefore the workflows will be added in the global workflow automator.
If the workflows have already been added to the primary workspace when the account was a single workspace account, they will remain there. If you delete them and add them again, they will now be added to global workflows and apply to all the workspaces in the account.