Admins can now decommission a Ticket custom field without losing any data. Once a field is archived, it will be unavailable for the agents/requesters to fill in.
By archiving a ticket field, the ticket field is removed but not permanently deleted from your account.
You can archive a ticket field that you created by clicking on Admin > Field Manager > Form Fields hover over the respective ticket field that you created and click on the archive icon.
Note: Default fields cannot be deleted or archived.
A quick guide to archiving ticket fields:
Impact of archiving ticket fields on
Workflow Automation and Supervisor Rules: When a ticket field is archived, the automation rules that are using this field will no longer work as expected. The condition containing the ticket field will evaluate to “false” from the automation. However, you can restore the field and add it back to the automation if you want to perform the automation.
Ticket views: You will no longer be able to view archived ticket fields in the forms.
Reports: Archiving a field will remove it from everywhere except Analytics. Agents can continue to report on this field’s historical data.
Restoring an archived custom ticket field
You can restore a ticket field that you archived by clicking on Admin > Field Manager > Form Fields hover over the respective ticket field that you archived and click on the restore icon.
Make sure you are saving the new changes.
Deleting a ticket field:
To delete a ticket field that you created, hover over the ticket field and click on the trash icon.
However, deleting a ticket field is an irreversible action where you will not be able to retrieve them. We recommend you to use the archive option if you are not sure about whether the field will be needed later.