Thought I'd post this here as well as already tacking my idea onto someone else's post.
Please can it be added that we can edit some of the currently locked fields when editing software? In our organisation we don't assign information assets or software assets directly to a named user but the job role, which makes the "Managed by" field entirely useless but I can't edit it or remove it. Extremely frustrating. Individuals generally come and go quite regularly but chances are the role will remain the same.