Start a new topic
In Progress

Asset Managment - Give Administrators Real Control

I have been growing increasingly frustrated with the Asset Management capabilities of FreshService.  The biggest frustration so far is that even as an account administrator I am not allowed to make certain changes to products, assets and asset types.

We are using the FreshService Agent to discover our client computer systems and so far that is working well for the most part.  However, there are inconsistencies in how assets are being automatically assigned an asset type...  for example, Surface 3 and Surface Pro 3 are assigned the asset type of "Laptop" but the Surface Pro 2 is assigned the asset type of "Computer."

Not a huge problem, I'll just go in and update the Surface Pro 2 product so that it is considered a laptop.  Except I am prevented from doing so because it's locked from editing.   Forget the fact that I would actually like to edit all of the Surface Products so that they are listed as "Tablets" rather than laptops or computers.

What's worse is that for our Agents, this means there is little logical order in finding assets.  If they were entering assets manually and wanted to add a Surface Pro 2, they would not fine it listed with the Surface 3 and Surface Pro 3 under the Laptop category.  They would instead need to look within "Computer" to find it.  This is a mess and in no way intuitive.

Please give Administrators (and Asset Management Agents) the ability to make these common sense changes so that assets and products can be logically organized and accessed.