Note: This article is on the new Sandbox 2.0 which is currently in Private Beta. For Freshservice's legacy Sandbox click here.


What are errors, warnings and information displayed before sync?

Here is how errors and warnings are defined:

Errors: In cases where sync between source and target instances is not possible, an error message is displayed. Users must action this to proceed before syncing.

Information: In cases where users need to be informed of something critical, an information message is displayed. Information messages have no impact on the sync. 

Warnings: In cases where users need to be informed of changes, for example to know if a field name or workflow is being renamed etc. Warnings have no impact on the sync. 

Note: Sync will happen even if users do not act upon errors and warnings.



Explain Errors and Warnings with examples.

Example of an error:
Consider the below changes in source account sequentially at time ‘T’. As the source is a clone of the target, at T0, the target and source are identical.

   T

Source account Config

Source acc. API Name

Target account Config

Target acc. API Name

0

Department name ‘Engineering’

it_Engineering

Department name ‘Engineering’

it_Engineering

1

No action

-

Department renamed from ‘Engineering’ to ‘Development’

it_Engineering

2

Creates new department. called ‘Development’

it_Development

No action

-

3

When syncing the user thinks the Development dept in source and target are the same and tries to update




In the above scenario, when syning the department named ‘Development’ from source, initially the system reads it as an addition because the API Name (it_development) does not exist in the target.

However, since the names of the workflow are the same (‘Development’) for two different API names, the system tries to update. 

The user thus is notified that this is an error and sync is not allowed till further action.

Example of a warning:

In the same above case, when the user renames a department from ‘Engineering’ to ‘Development’ in the target and syncs the same workflow, the system shows this as a warning, so that the user is aware of the change before syncing.

Note: There is no restriction on sync if there are one or more warnings, as these are errors that users can proceed to sync with.

How is data displayed in the Errors section?

The list of modules that contain errors is displayed in the left side menu. Also, the total number of errors in a module is displayed in a bracket. An error symbol is shown next to each item.


What can be done when errors or warnings are encountered?

The user has two options:

1. Go back to editing the config set, rectify the errors and retry syncing without any errors.

2. Proceed with the sync ignoring the errors. In this case, all valid configurations are synced, and all erroneous configs are not synced.

FAQs:

1. Is there an option to skip adding dependencies, and why are they considered important?
Dependencies can be skipped in situations like the ones explained below:

Case 1: When a config A has a few dependencies (B, & C) and there is an error with A


In this case, ONLY skip syncing A. B and C should be synced and not ignored.
Reason: B & C might have been added as an independent item (and not as a dependent for A), hence they should NOT be restricted. Additionally, the dependencies wouldn't need their references to exist. Hence, we can move dependencies.


Case 2: When a config A has a few dependencies (B, & C) and there is an error with B 


In this case, skip syncing B and A as B is the erroneous record and A is dependent on B. Reason: Since A couldn't exist without B, we should skip syncing A as well. 


C doesn't have any dependency or reference with B. Hence it should be synced

    

Case 3: When a config A has a few dependencies (B, & C). C has a cyclical dependency with A (i.e. C is in turn dependent on A). Either A or C is the erroneous record.


Skip-syncing A and C as they have cyclical dependencies. Sync B as usual. 


2. What happens if any of the missing dependencies are global configurations? 

a. Who can proceed with sync?
    Only Play god admins can proceed with sync for global dependencies.

b. If a local admin encounters this, what is the workaround 

    Local admins need to get this done manually from Play god admins.

3. What happens when dependencies in the target are removed? 

When dependencies in the target are removed, this will be indicated as an error. User must add this configuration in the target to proceed with sync.